Matthew H. Fields
Matthew H. Fields
Selected Orchestral Works

Insomniac Sky


Audio link Listen to the piece now: click here for MP3 audio. This performance was realized inside the composer's computer.



Program Note

"This is the second movement of a new multi-movement work, following Sunset, in which Hubble Space Telescope Views will be the finale.

"Faint lights keep us looking at the sky as nocturnal life awakens."

--Matthew H. Fields


The players are the same as in Hubble Space Telescope Views, and the percussion is a subset of those used in that piece.

  • piccolo
  • 2 flutes
  • 2 oboes
  • English horn
  • 2 clarinets
  • bass clarinet
  • 2 bassoons
  • contrabassoon
  • 4 horns
  • 3 trumpets
  • 2 trombones
  • bass trombone
  • tuba
  • timpani
  • 3 percussionists
    • Player 1
      • bell tree
      • glockenspiel
      • crotales
    • Player 2
      • vibraphone
    • Player 3
      • almglocken
  • harp
  • large string ensemble (e.g. 15/14/12/10/6)

Year of Composition



Scores open in separate windows.

.PDF Click this paragraph to view or download the score in Adobe Acrobat format.

Scorch score If you have or are willing to install the SCORCH plug-in, you can click this paragraph to view the score in SCORCH format.